Freelance Whales – “Dig Into Waves” {Indie Pop}

The New York-based Freelance Whales have just debuted a track off their forthcoming full length Diluvia, which is the group’s first release since their 2009 debut album Weathervanes. Diluvia is due out October 9th and is being released via Mom + Pop/Frenchkiss Records.

Holy Ghost! – “It Gets Dark” {Synthpop/Disco}

Holy Ghost! is back with a brand new track which was released via James Murphy’s label DFA Records. Apparently the single has officially been released as a one-sided 12″, but there’s still no word as to whether it will be included on an upcoming album.

The Joy Formidable – “This Ladder is Ours” {Alternative Rock}

The Joy Formidable’s new album Wolf’s Law isn’t out until January 21st, but fans are already salivating thanks to the band releasing three singles off the album to date. The group also recently announced that they will be embarking on a mini-U.S. tour this fall; for more info on their upcoming shows click here.

FIDLAR – “White on White” {Garage Rock}

Not only have the L.A. punkers revealed yet another single off their forthcoming debut LP, they also recently posted a brand new live recording of a collaborative track with Kate Nash to promote their upcoming UK tour; (click here to check it out).
For more info on FIDLAR click here.

Tennis – “Guiding Light” {Pop/Rock}

As a homage to all of their fans who supported the release of their recent album Young and Old, the Colorado indie poppers have released a cover of the classic Television track “Guiding Light;” (listen to the original here). The duo also announced that they will be heading back to the studio to record yet another full-length album this year.

Teen Daze – “Divided Loyalties” {Electronic/Experimental}

It’s been a good year for Teen Daze fans, with the Abbotsford-based producer releasing not one, but two albums in 2012. This track is off his forthcoming full-length The Inner Mansions which is being released on November 6th via Lefse Records.

Ducktails – “The Flower Lane” {Surf Rock/Dream Pop}

The new track from Ducktails AKA “the increasingly less ‘solo’ endeavor” of Real Estate’s guitarist Matt Mondanile is a little bit lo-fi, a little bit lounge, and a whole lotta awesome. The single is off his new album The Flower Lane, which is technically the band’s fourth album release (although it is their first with Domino Records).

RZA ft. The Black Keys – “The Baddest Man Alive” {Rock/Rap}

The Black Keys have already collaborated with Wu-Tang Clan’s RZA on the 2009 Blakroc album (which also featured collaborations with Ludacris, Mos Def and Q-Tip), but the rapper has recruited the duo to work with him yet again for the soundtrack of his new kung-fu film The Man with the Iron Fists.

Josh Homme – “Nobody to Love” {Rock}

Now that Josh Homme has a big enough fanbase to not rely on Queens of the Stone Age, Eagles of Death Metal, or the gazillion other awesome projects he’s been involved in over the years, he’s decided to delight fans with a brand new solo effort. This track was written for the new crime movie End of Watch, and was co-written by Dave Sardy, the film’s composer and producer for Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds.

The Babies – “Get Lost” {Rock/Alt-Country}

This Brooklyn-based group (consisting of Kevin Morby from Woods and Cassie Ramone from Vivian Girls) have just released what is to be the first of probably many singles off their forthcoming sophomore release Our House on the Hill. The album will be out on November 13th and is being released via Woodsist.

St. Lucia – “September” {Electropop}

St. Lucia fans have been waiting a long time for the studio release of this track, which is off the group’s brand new EP September. The EP was [appropriately] released on September 25th and is now available for purchase via iTunes.

Andrew Bird – “If I Needed You” {Folk}

Andrew Bird is currently promoting his new album Hands of Glory (which is his second of 2012), and he just revealed this brand new cover of this classic Townes Van Sandt track. Hands of Glory will be out on October 30th, and also includes covers of Alpha Consumer, The Handsome Family and the almighty Carter Family.

Times New Viking – “Sleep-In” {Indie Rock}

The Ohio-based Times New Viking have been building up a loyal fan base since forming back in 2005, and although they only just released the full-length Dancer Equired last year, they are now prepping for the release a brand new EP Over & Over on November 19th. The EP will be available as a 12″ vinyl but you can purchase it as a digital download here.

Toro Y Moi – “So Many Details” {Electronic/Experimental}

Here’s the first single off Toro Y Moi’s forthcoming album Anything in Return which is due out January 22nd. The track has already been released as a 7″ single as well as a B-side remix featuring Odd Future’s Hodgy Beats.

New Animal – “Falling Up” {Indie Pop}

This brand new track from Atlanta’s New Animal is stereotypical New Animal-ish: Raw, lo-fi, melodic, and everything we’ve grown to love about the neo-indie band over the past year. The track is being released as a cassette single via Old Flame Records.
For more info on New Animal click here.

The Rolling Stones – “Doom and Gloom” {Classic Rock}

Yes, Keith, Mick, Ronnie and Charlie are still alive and kicking, and they’re already promoting the release of their forthcoming greatest hits album in honour of their 50th anniversary. “Doom and Gloom” is one of the two new singles off the compilation, which also includes 50 of their greatest hits.

 {Like RMD on Facebook} {Follow RMD on Twitter} {Subscribe to our RSS Feed}
{RMD on Google+} {RMD on Soundcloud} {RMD on Pinterest} {RMD on Tumblr}

{Photo credit: RZA/The Black Keys}



Powered by Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>