Hello Hum (2012)

It’s been a couple of years since we’ve heard from our favourite Nova Scotia-based band Wintersleep.

Their 2010 album New Inheritors helped the band achieve both national and international fame, and their third album Welcome to the Night Sky won a 2008 Juno Award for “New Group of the Year.” But it was their 2005 untitled album that first caught our attention, thanks to tracks like “Lipstick,” “Jaws of Life,” and “Danse Macabre.”

The band just released the first single off their forthcoming album Hello Hum, which is set for a June release. The album was recorded in 2011 and was produced by Tony Doogan (Mogwai, Belle & Sebastian) and David Fridmann (Weezer, MGMT, The Flaming Lips).

In a press release (which was just published on the band’s website yesterday), the new album is said to have “glowing melodies…backed by rhythms that can stand as the skeletons of songs or be studied for their subtle complexities.”

The first single off the album, “In Came the Flood,” proves that Wintersleep still has what it takes to pen some unforgettable rock tunes.

Wintersleep is currently working on a new music video for “In Came the Flood” with director Sean Wainsteim, and the band describes the video as having “a whole helluvalot of spinning around, train tracks, lasers and fog machines.” Sounds epic.

{Official website} {Facebook} {Myspace} {Twitter} {Photo credit: Wintersleep}

{Like RMD on Facebook} {Follow RMD on Twitter} {Subscribe to our RSS Feed}
{RMD on Google+} {RMD on Soundcloud} {RMD on Pinterest}



Powered by Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>